wish list for my to-do list

I am currently in a phase of my life that requires me to work like a high speed train- at a constant and rapid pace with very few stops.

It seems completely unrealistic to expect this from myself and yet it is what my current academic work needs. When I find myself fatigued and overwhelmed, I try to hold on to things that bring me little pockets of joy. I know that pushing back some of my productivity goals will cause more stress, but in moments of extreme exhaustion, I feel like the only thing that will save me is listening to myself, listening to what I truly need.

I believe it now when people say that it is not about “having” time, it is about making time for the things that matter.


This is me screaming into the beautiful depths of the stars and galaxies above us- I want to make time! I want to make time for the things that truly matter to me, that remind me of who I am.

Dropping everything to make a healthy, hearty meal

Talking with a friend and connecting on dealing with similar struggles

Lying down on a comfy bean bag chair and reading comics

Taking a long and windy walk, just to soak up the sun on a cold day

Reading children’s books to remember just how simple life’s joys can be

Wondering how Spring brings all kinds of beautiful changes in nature

And finally, just being ๐Ÿ™‚

These are the things that I know I live for and maybe this stubbornness to make time will help me strike a balance between achieving my biggest, boldest career dreams as well as the warmth and comfiness of my highly social and emotional self. Even though this sentimental piece of writing could be produced in a second by AI, I want to make time to indulge in creating meaningful documentation of the beautiful chaos in and around me.

What a call the “popcorn” tree, one of many beautiful spring moments that I’m trying to make time for

Leave a comment